Vibrant Red and Gorgeous

When the words ‘I love you’
are announced from between those lips
of yours, so vibrant red and gorgeous,
dripping with untamed passion,
I realize all the beauty in the universe
exists only at your feet, and where you stand
is the origin of much gracefulness,
which I long to travel through.

There is little left in me
to fend against the attractive qualities
of your physique and mind,
your personality, wit and charm,
being aspects of your eternal beauty
I long to hold within these arms of mine,
whilst I run my fingers through your hair.

Your voice makes love to mine,
exposing my weaknesses
every moment in which we meet,
my selfish desire to have you all to myself
being revealed so easily,
I cannot help but fault my heart
for falling so unconditionally for you.

I am no liar in love,
as I lie semi-conscious
in the endless field of desire,
bleeding on the bladed petals
of the many roses I longed to secure
for you alone. I am tempted by no other
in the harsh existence of romance,
waiting on your call like a meth addict,
awaiting his next fix.

I secretly cry when experiencing evenings alone,
needing, rather than wanting,
to have your body pressed against my own,
the lack of caution presented to me
in my younger years, scaffolding the courageous lust
I produce daily, like sweat, eagerly anticipating,
with anxiety strained limbs, the moment
I meet your Heavenly gaze once more.

With your bosom, pressed agaisnt my own,
the breath billowing through your lungs
existing similarly to mine, as we lie upon my mattress,
seething after hours of enjoyment.
Your flesh is heartier than any sun,
warming my unwavering conviction on freezing nights,
when icicles threatened to appear upon my person.
I cannot confirm if our relationship
is like the others happening right now,
but I can guarantee, I won’t regret having loved you,
even if you leave, for every memory is a banquet,
that ought to be gorged eternally.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on July 14, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “I secretly cry when experiencing evenings alone,
    needing, rather than wanting,
    to have your body pressed against my own,…”

    Ugh, your poetry hits home — hard! Gaaah! But in other news, your writing never fails to make me smile. So happy to see that you’ve been writing a lot! Hopefully I can follow suit, again. Hugs from Manila! And belated happy birthday to you, too! 😉

    • Thank you again for the birthday wishes Miko! 😀 Very much appreciated milady. Thank you also for the kindly comment. I’m sorry my poetry ‘hit home’, but I wouldn’t be doing my job (if it is my job…) as a writer not to influence the emotions of readers. I’m glad it brought a smile 🙂 I haven’t actually been writing as much lately (I think I wrote this back a couple of months ago) due to work and uni. I hope your writing can blossom more in the very near future Miko. Thank you again for taking the time to comment! Wishing you health and happiness.

Leave a Reply

