New Year Lights – Happy New Year 2015 Peeps!

I am a cosmonaut,
traveling across an aged tightrope
that hovers in an anti-gravity suite
towards the combination of several colors
brighter than this world’s flare.
The fireworks flatter my irises
with unending beauty, refusing to yield
against the dark spaces that hang loosely
in mid air.
Another beginning explodes with the atoms
of this universe taking flight, shaking the heavens
into omission once the new dawn
is birthed. What resolutions shall I bless
my body and heart over the next twelve months,
or should I forget about promises
and instead insist to be entertained this night,
without the poppycock fear of tomorrow?
War and death could evaporate
any chance for wishes made,
and even if I deemed pure love
worthy of administering as my annual wish,
who is to say the possibility
can be traced towards a future, beautiful and true,
when this beacon of happenstance
exists outside of my grasp.

Happy New Year! Wishing all of you the best in 2015!
Thank you for reading.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on December 30, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Cosmonaut, I like that! 🙂 A great poem to start off the year.

  2. May the ‘beacon of happenstance’ be within your grasp this year. Best wishes for 2015.

Leave a Reply

