In Case Tomorrow Never Arrives

Although it is excruciating to know
the honor of seeing your nude form
will not be mine tonight, I give prefererence
to seeing an attire clinging to your flesh,
your body bathed in wool and cotton
fabrics, for I know in these moments,
the mesmerizing longing I try to sweep aside,
comes not from the insatiably gripping
urge to touch you, but because of the beauty
you exude from simply being yourself.
I am immune to much it would surely seem,
but you, are certainly not one of them,
and it should be known by your heart
how I do feel, in case tomorrow never arrives.
You are a flare, struggling against
the competitive light of the sun,
but with me beside you, never will your light
cease to blossom, and its faltering sway
will be abolished, every time my fingers
wrap themselves around yours, in an embrace
unlike any ever recorded before.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on November 4, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

