Until Our Connection is Complete

There are many lessons to be learned in the lines that I produce,
the most eager, or well respected of all, being the reason
that once motivated my hand to write indecipherable images
upon the page. I write poetry for the woman my heart shall not obtain,
in the hopes these feelings shall melt, for a poem
is a non-essential piece of literature
when you already have the woman of your fantasies.

I dare myself to commit a retaliatory strike against
all that would oppress me so, with frequent wonder
in my veins: how many reincarnations must I sacrifice
to live, at least beside you, for even the most fleeting of moments?
You were never stolen away by the wind,
and due to this, I cannot accept the unacceptable
tragedy that engaged my voice, prohibiting me from wallowing
in the agony that flourishes like a field of daffodils beneath the morn.

Why does fate mock me so with its cruel hand,
leading me astray, for I have longed, so greedily,
to have you to myself, but never is the beauty
of this occurrence unlocked to me,
rather, the gateway is banished beyond my reach,
thus, I am left behind.

I cannot help but internalize every moment beneath the dim twilight
that never ceases in its astounding blight, which ought to be
so legendary by now. Never has a pain existed quite like this,
and awakening from this failed rapture, to drink bliss
instead of agony from the oil well I have inadvertently tapped,
would give me pause to consider astounding happiness.

Divine phosphorescence exudes from the pores of my heart,
struck by the fiery hand of longing and temptation.
You’re a courier, at least I wish you were, transporting these fair feelings of mine
towards your soul, bewildering me always
with your magnificence. Every good memory I own
took place around you, and if you were a flower,
you would be a rose, your thorns cutting into me
with every touch, ensnaring me like barbed wire,
until our connection is complete.

A reading of this poem can be found at the following link: http://youtu.be/bH46vKqZLts Thanks for reading!

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on November 1, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

