Ain’t It Lovely to Receive An Award!?

Hey guys!

It has been a while since I was blessed with an award, but this dry spell has officially ended. Recently, the quirkiest quirky girl ever (whose blog can be found at the following link: http://diaryofaquirkygirl.wordpress.com/) nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award! Thank you Ma’am!

one-blog-lovely-award

Now, apparently I am supposed to link to my nominator’s blog (check), show the award on my blog (check), nominate fifteen other bloggers (on my to do list), and additionally,  I am meant to share seven riveting facts about myself…Well, in that case, sit back, and prepare to have your minds blown (not really).

Super Amazing Fact 1: I am quite the Anime fan, my favorites been Ghost in the Shell (I have a massive crush on the Major) (also, I recently pre-ordered Arise) and Appleseed (which I have the entire collection of, including the original 1989 version, the movie adaptions of the TV series, and the recent addition, Alpha). I also quite enjoy Patlabor, the Aquarion series, STR.A.IN, Star Wars Clone Wars, Shangri-La, and the animated adaptions of video games, including Halo Legends, Mass Effect Paragon Lost, Dead Space Downfall and Aftermath, and Dragon Age Dawn of the Seeker. I believe I enjoy animated features and shows because often many of the lead protagonists are comprised of very powerful female characters, who are not only capable of kicking ass, but are realistically portrayed.
On a side note, I also enjoy Red vs. Blue, and have the ten years of Red vs. Blue box set.

Super Amazing Fact 2: Presently, I am in my final semester of my Postgraduate Masters course. Part of me will be glad when this is officially over because the 15,000 word thesis is kicking me in places I don’t like being kicked. What I find most annoying, is that every time I speak with my adviser, there are brand new criticisms he wishes to bring to my attention; criticisms that were non-existent the last time, and so I need to take these into account and make further amendments. For instance, one week he would say how a paragraph is great, and the next time, that same unedited paragraph, is suddenly not worth keeping. I mean, come on Doc! Make up your mind already!
However, I am unsure where I wish to go from here; should I (if I have the required grades) go on to do my doctorate (which would assist me in becoming a tutor at university), or should I do a Master of Teaching (which would grant me the ability to teach at secondary schools)?

Super Amazing Fact 3: I recently changed internet providers. I have been using Optus for, well, years actually, and I have been impressed with the service thus far (on most occasions), however the 15 gigabyte a month plan I had was beginning to feel restrictive, and now I have access to unlimited internet for a cheaper price. This has especially come in handy with my copy of Destiny on Xbox One (at present I’m a level 24 Blade Dancer) . On that note, are there any bloggers online (who I happen to know) that play Destiny? When it comes to temporarily teaming up with random strangers, it might actually be nice to have some kind of history with the players.

Destiny1
Furthermore, an alternative subject; does anyone know when Ghost in the Shell Online is coming out? I know the developers said early to mid 2014 back in February, but I’m not seeing it…

Super Amazing Fact 4: When it comes to movies, I don’t have a particular genre preference – I will often try anything if it looks even moderately appealing. When it comes to reading on the other hand, I can very rarely stand contemporary fiction, especially the Australian variety, where often life in the country seems to be a major theme, which does nothing to impress me in the slightest. When writing my own material however, especially prose or novels, I have a tendency to enjoy developing science fiction oriented pieces, which is a problem in Australia when it comes to looking for a publisher. Although magazines like Aurealis accept submissions of speculative fiction, larger publishers rarely do, with many of the literary agents and/or publishers that ever did accept such work either going out of business, or since adjusting their preferences regarding the type of work they choose to endorse/publish.

Super Amazing Fact 5: I have an avid fascination with jewellery. Apart from a watch, I almost always have at least two other wrist bands on (one of which is my medic alert bracelet – wouldn’t want to forget that), and on top of this, I never leave home without a necklace. I have pierced ears, with two rings in my left and one in my right, which I often swap. On occasions when I go out (for instance, next week I’ll be attending a poetry reading in the city), I wear much larger designs, two of which are these massive skulls with bright red eyes.

Super Amazing Fact 6: I don’t have many male friends; most of my friends happen to be gals. Most guys I know outside of the net talk either about cars (the only time I care about cars is when the one I’m in stops working) or AFL (which I used to enjoy, and I even played football on occasion (not professionally of course), but, kicking an oddly shaped red ball from one side of the field to the next just doesn’t really do it for me). The reason I mention this, is because I have in the past become attracted to some of my friends; in fact, my last girlfriend was actually a best friend of mine. Obviously men and women can be friends, this is a proven fact, however for me, sometimes I think that perhaps a man wakes up one day and realizes the young lady he has been searching for has been beside him all along. I guess the point I’m making is that if you’re a young woman who happens to be a friend of mine, one day (unless you’re married), I might just happen to fall in love with you. You have been warned!

Super Amazing Fact 7: None of these super amazing facts have been really super amazing, and even I am thoroughly disappointed by that.

After the reveal of these super amazing facts, my mission goal is to nominate 15 other people. Okay then, without further ado (cliche’ I know), allow me to say – I have no intention of nominating anyone. I literally follow hundreds of people on WordPress! Am I really expected to pick 15 bloggers? What about the other few hundred lovely blogs that I don’t nominate? So, allow me to say, if you have a lovely blog and you happen to read this text, if you want the One Lovely Blog Award, it is yours! I don’t want to miss out on nominating someone who deserved the award, and I am certain if you are reading this, you are as deserving of it as anyone else.

Thank you for stopping by guys! And thank you again to the Quirky Girl for this nomination. Have a great day!

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on September 21, 2014, in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the lovely shout out sir! It has been wonderful getting to know 7 amazing facts about you! 🙂

    As far as fact number 3 goes, maybe I can provide some insight. First off I feel your pain. It sounds like your instructors are a lot like the instructors I endured through some of my fine art classes.

    As far as whether or not you should pursue getting a Doctorate or sticking with a Masters, I am with you. Even though getting a Doctorate would be wonderful and amazing, if you truly have a passion for teaching English, writing and literature, it might be best to ignite the minds of secondary or (junior high?) kids. This is an age where you can truly have a positive influence on someone’s life. Right now I am pursuing a Masters in English Education with a concentration in Middle School. That being said, the flip side, getting a Doctorate you would be in classes where the students WANT to be…and as unfortunate as it is, where some students are forced to be because their parents made them.

    I’m going to start with a Masters, teach middle school and see if a Doctorate is worth pursuing. Honestly though, there is nothing more fulfilling than teaching someone and seeing them for the first time understanding a concept, or really getting into the spirit of what you are trying to convey.

    You could instruct the most awesome POETRY lesson plan helping teenagers relate to their every day angst and getting it out in a creative way?! You would be an awesome teacher, no matter which path you decide to take! 🙂

    Thank you again for the lovely shout out and wonderful words! 🙂

    • Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. To be honest, I had not considered the benefits teaching has on students, and your description on how it feels when someone’s teaching has a profoundly advantageous affect on another was not only interesting, but inspiring too. You have certainly given me something to think about Ma’am.
      Thank you again for the award, and thank you for providing your opinionated insight. I really appreciate it. 😀 😀

  2. AH! Sorry I meant interesting fact number 2! Was writing in-between traveling at school etc. Again, as with the last time I posted on your blog, hopefully it doesn’t come across as over-bearing. I’m glad you found it inspiring, can’t help trying to help others with their lives. Hopefully soon you will have it figured out and those professors will finally get their act together! Really it is a mind trip when one day something is well written and the next it’s not.

    As far as big time publishing and doing science fiction work, have you thought about working with an artist and publishing your stories in graphic novel form? Just curious. 🙂 If it isn’t supported in the main stream where you are, there are quite a few agents over here that are starting to specialize in that genre, whether you do full on sci-fi prose or go the graphic novel route.

    Anyway…good grief, sounding like a mom! Hopefully some of this has helped to give you hope! 🙂

    Also, the way you signed off this post was brilliant! 🙂 It is hard to pick 15 bloggers!

    • Thank you again for your words Ma’am.
      No, you’re not being overbearing; it’s nice to receive constructive, beneficial advice.
      No, I had not considered a graphic novel format for work, however I was thinking of American publishers. I agree with you that there are agents in America who are interested in this particular field. A woman I knew a couple of years ago had her work published by an American company after it was unaccepted by those in Australia, so clearly looking overseas for opportunities is an interesting venture.
      Also, I wish my professor would make up his mind too! He only just finished editing my newest draft, and again he is considering the removal of some paragraphs once labelled as acceptable. Ah well, it is all going towards making my work better (I hope). All I can say, is that after this, I had better acquire the best grade ever!
      Thank you again for commenting. I appreciate your thoughts! 😀

Leave a Reply

