To the Gal that Writes me Well

When waiting for love, like a bitter disorder,
the haunting loneliness cascades
across the temperate peaks of one’s imagination,
delivering a crushing blow
to all that was wishful affection.
Internally, in my dreams, I hear her whisper words
of much intensity, which drift, like sandpaper,
across the bruised perimeter of my heart,
and upon awakening, my arms
around an always invisible desire,
her name rolling across my tongue;
a name she never hears.
We write and we talk, and frequently
I am forced to pretend that what I feel is non-existent,
and by the time she and I have the courage
to be prescribed that adoring conversation,
the wait which filled the abyss between us
became too steep, and she has found
another, better heart, whereas I am left behind.

A reading of the poem can be found at the following link: http://youtu.be/zuHWdy4JrUo

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on September 8, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I feel this poem so much!nice one

  2. heartfelt one, eh? curious ending. i will forever wonder what makes a better heart and how people compare one against another.

    • Yeah, even I on occasion become slightly bored (maybe not the right word) continuously discussing themes of a somewhat darker nature. Curious ending you say?
      In this particular poem, I think I was developing the idea that, in the eyes of the woman character at least, perhaps a ‘better’ heart belongs to the man who actually steps up to the plate (cliche I know) without any sense of hesitation.
      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Anyway, how’s life treating you PM?

      • i like how you mentioned the part without hesitation. whatever you do will seem better if you commit to it fully. i get by, not too bad at all, thanks. i am busy with physical activities as i am planning to join an urbanathlon.

      • An urbanathlon? Wow, PM, sounds ambitious. If I vaguely remember, there’s one that happens in Melbourne sometime…wouldn’t catch me doing it though. I have heat stroke, so they’d probably find my body smack bang in the middle of the course after the race was finished with my legs and arms in the air. PM, you must be really dedicated to your physical exercise. How many miles is this thing meant to go for (if I may ask out of curiosity)?

      • i’m a wuss so mine is just for 5 km, followed by a badass obstacle course. my first time to do it so quite excited but i do understand the punishment i’d take!

      • Is your intention in participating to gain further exercise and push your physical capacity, or are you aiming to finish first and win a trophy/ribbon/certificate?

      • just to push myself and see how far i can go. this is symbolic. if i finish this it would mean my sick year is totally behind me. i will treat it as a big achievement. it will take a shitload of work but i am willing to put all of that in. nice challenge, this one.

      • In the past you have discussed some of the pains you have been forced to endure due to illness. I wish you all the best in your endeavors PM.

      • thank you! yes, i find it a joy, being able to toughen it up. i remember the days when i can’t even breathe sitting upright!

      • I’m glad you have come so far PM! 😀 Hopefully everything regarding your plans will go well for you Ma’am.

      • hopefully. i am going to run later with 2 other friends. what’s up with you lately?

      • Oh, the usual. University, work, university. In my spare time I’m thrashing the enemy in my new XBOX 1 game Destiny.

      • at least it is a balanced kind of thing: work and play. i try to do the same: train and eat. bite people sometimes.

      • Really? Biting people – is this something you do often?

      • hahaha, hopefully not!

      • okay… I didn’t know if that was a serious comment. Yeah, I would perhaps hope not too…

  3. Another good one! I particularly enjoyed the reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

