Stone

Make me stone; smooth on outside
like pebble, but internally coarse,
like pumice. Make it, so I may
only understand true love
on an intellectual level;
so I may comprehend why
these feelings are exhibited
from such emotion. Make it,
so I needn’t again suffer
the abysmal torture of heartbreak.
Despite how wonderful
the touch of a paramour
can be, may I be excused
from feeling with my heart again.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on August 12, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. omg what an infinitely morose piece! but i do understand such emotion; in fact i would even say there is a sense of freedom in it, so maybe it is not that bad. definitely not happy, but in a way not bad at all.

    • Thank you. I think. I agree that the poem is quite negative, however I also agree about the freeing characteristics of such negativity. Very interesting comment PM! Thank you, as always for reading and responding. I appreciate it!

      • i never said it is negative, mr. childs. what is positive and negative anyway. haha sorry, aftereffects of this book i am reading. the poem is lovely. morose but lovely.

      • Sorry. You didn’t say it was negative, but I interpreted it that way. I’m sorry for putting words in your mouth PM. Thank you again for the comment. Lovely, eh? I think you are being far too kind, but I appreciate your words.

      • haha you are beginning to sound like me, when i fail to accept your appreciation of my shit poetry, that i don’t seem to be writing anymore.

      • Perhaps. Okay, maybe that’s a very strong yes. I said my piece was negative, and then you proceeded to give me one of the best compliments of the year.
        Also, not to be hypocritical here PM, but ‘shit’ is an overwhelmingly harsh term. According to my thesis adviser, we all write trash, and the only way to better ourselves, is to continue in our writing endeavors. Personally, I think you are doing both yourself and your adoring fans a disservice by not continuing to write your poetry, however I am unsure if I have the right to say that.

      • but i have always told you that your poetry is lovely! haha i did not mean to offend by calling my writing shit. it is just my way of keeping cool about it. it is just for fun after all. hey, have you heard about the book the unbearable lightness of being? that is my current read, it is quite cool.

      • It was not I you were offending PM! And come to think of it you are always showering my work with an abundance of complimentary comments…
        No, I haven’t heard of that particular book – I don’t read as often as I used to, or should I more aptly say, read fiction as often as I once did.

      • i have been slacking on the reading as well and only now have i picked up on it. glad this is what got me back though, enjoying it immensely.

      • That’s good to hear PM!

      • yes, and you should probably head on to my litterbox now and see stuff.

      • Like the new poem? (received an e-mail notification) I’ll head them momentarily PM.

      • see i listen to you, sometimes. hahaha!

Leave a Reply

