A Love Affair Absconded

I fear I have absconded with the lifetime
given to me, in exchange for brutal nothingness.
I could have been a billion miles away
when right beside a damsel of exquisit
qualities, and instead of enabling a connection,
I stood by and allowed an opportunity
for exponential happiness to depart.
It is miraculous the will to surrender
myself to love remains, and though I am no hero,
I question if I have the courage,
delving into my defeated frame
to find the strength required, offering up
what is left of my tattered romance
to whoever may be listening
for my ever waning heartbeat.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on August 7, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The art of shooting oneself in the foot is accurately portrayed in this tale of woe. Well done

Leave a Reply

