Lines of Love Eternal

Who is the unnamed stranger,
that bled all meaning from my life,
and replaced the reason for the beat
inside my chest, with the pleasure
of her company? Is it possible
to live only for someone else,
where oxygen and liquid beverages
are no longer required to sustain a life;
where romance is the only requirement
to waking up every morning?

Am I a thief, for wanting to kidnap
a moment in your life, and share
in its great fortune? Allow me to ask,
might I kindly appropriate the life from you,
and hold your essence to my soul?
To steal a woman’s heart, so warm and plush,
would fill me with much awe,
and although there may be some
who query my intention, let it be known,
love is seldom sensible in its charm,
and if I must become a wreck-loose,
to bathe in all its beauty, then allow the fool
who parades within, to dance outside of me.

Never would you have kissed a man
until you have been kissed by me,
moved across time and distances
by the embodiment of truest love.
Perhaps death has already consumed me,
heart and whole, for angel’s like yourself
rarely venture before my train of vision.
Have I known you already,
for a trillion years, or is it your lips,
which sing to mine, that call me home at last?

To be absent of your affection
would leave me fractured and in tears,
whereas to relinquish this unwanted anguish,
and melt the many pains, would require the touch
of your puckered flesh on mine. Do not let this reference
startle you into submission, and let us not insult
this moment with a tender helping of great passion.
Let us not allow our bodies to speak volumes,
where words of romance everlasting
burn brighter, but hold each other so dearly,
while we whisper lines of love eternal.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on July 2, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is gorgeous. Shakespearean in feeling. So very romantic and worthy of a soliloquy.

Leave a Reply

