To Court; To Capture; To Charm

If I cannot speak the love I hold for you
with words fallen from my mouth,
let my heart bestow upon you
what my ever prevailing lips cannot;
the jewels from my soul’s crescent keep,
that may stain your cheek with warmth
on the nights so cold, when you pray
for a decent lover to become enthralled
by the blissfulness of your affections.
Let my feelings hold you in an embrace,
absent of all shortcomings, and allow
my eyes to dance across the rivetting
surfaces of your mortal frame.
To describe you would be an insult,
with words as they are today,
unable to capture the poetry, so pure,
which comprises the totality
of your gorgeousness,
that I have so graciously glimpsed
with much admiration. My lack
of words however, comes from
the unfortunate truth, to which
I rarely speak. You see,  I am a slave
to my own self-worth, which equals
to little more than naught, the silence
of my words resembling the quiet
confidence within, that fails to speak
volumes about abilities I seldom believe
myself to have. When without this inner
strength I am meant to hold,
which is to be a magnificent fire,
long quenched by a body of water
that drowned me in lackluster esteem,
I am a pauper inside myself,
left without the energy to give my hand
to yours. What I would not wish
to be the man so adored, by self
and others, whose positivity beckons all
to witness the character within.
If I had such a spark, I would grasp
you between my heart and soul,
and confess the feelings of either
every moment in which we kiss,
and never would an hour pass
when you feel the absence
of an outstanding phenomena of love.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on June 19, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My God, this is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

