If You Knew Me…

…the way only a person so connected
to another can know them, deep down,
to the very core of life, you would never
love me, and like the sweltering fires
of uninterrupted silence, I would be left
beyond the care of your young, maiden
arms, to die alone in discontent, without
the touch of your feelings, or the knowledge
of what your love truly tastes like,
on these lips of mine. My life, like the death
awaiting me, near the conclusion
of this verse, cannot ever have a happy
ending, for the directionality chosen
by myself, does not lead to prosperous
salvation, nor to unending delights.
This choice is one which has been consumed
by the fingers of your mind, which point
away from me, and even if I were to strive
for greater pastures, and save my sickly soul,
my life, wrapped in a condiment,
applied by my own hand, and those of others,
would never wish to be ferried across the divide.
We are all products of the choices
we have made; the embodiment of our destinies
that deny us access to paths we cannot walk,
and how could I possibly feel anger
towards those who shake their fists at me,
when it was not them who made such choices,
but the peers who hold them back. Society
is the gravedigger of my smile,
that I have seldom seen in years,
and until I feel the rays of happiness,
slipping beneath the veil of cold deceit,
I will remain buried in this tomb
with all the others, who failed to acquire
the love of a decent friend or paramour.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on June 18, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. such poignant words, mr. childs? but you hit it on the head. a lot is about the choices we make. as such, if you don’t like where things are going, the solution is to simply make different choices, yes? lovely to read from you. it’s been a long while we have spoken.

Leave a Reply

