Not Again Does Happiness Unfold

As though there were no pages left,
the story simply ended,
a fools parade playing
in the foundations of my heart
for me, proclaiming this story
was written right, and thus,
was not destined to end
at all. There is no conclusion
of utter happiness to be viewed
after the climax of my heart’s endeavor
folds, for never was I made
for films to be broadcast
at the theater. I am not the hero,
swept up by the wings of love,
and into the clutches
of a young duchess, so divine.
I am not the dream boat,
set sail from the harbor
of love’s fortune, to the land
of thrilling romance everlasting.
I am not the face
of adrenaline rushing handsomeness,
nor am I the definition
of a damsel’s fantasy. No;
I am but a puddle
to be stepped over, on the corner
of a cobblestone footpath,
trodden on by the feet
of everyone, until this cancerous
breath of mine unfolds, never again.

There is a video of me reading this particular poem at the following link: http://youtu.be/EOt3biBRNMs

Hope you enjoy guys! Thanks for reading!

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on April 14, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great post, thank you for sharing. Ann

Leave a Reply

