Poetry Reading – There Were No More Roses

Hey Guys!

Here is the link to the first poetry reading I have uploaded online: http://youtu.be/ojMGtsWFBOk

The poem is a piece I have previously published on this blog, and because it is close to my heart (as I explain in the video) it is the first of hopefully many poems I will eventually upload.

Thank you for reading/watching!

 

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on April 2, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Looks like I was you first view- privileged. That piece, although the subject matter was intense- I think is my favorite of your amazing work thus far. I’m glad you decided to youtube it. Brings you and your work to life. I certainly related. My bipolar depression cycle had me attempt suicide once- hopefully last time- back in 2007. I’m quite medicated these days- and much better. I feel your pain and think you expressed it so beautifully. Love the imagery and your amazing word choice. You are handsome and your accent is fun on a side note! Peace to you.

    • Thanks for the view! πŸ˜€ I’m glad you’re feeling better Ma’am. I’m sorry you felt back then there was no other alternative.
      I often make references to my condition, and the feedback from those with similar mental ills is always very illuminating.
      Thank you also for the compliments. Handsome, eh? Don’t think I have been called that in a long time, if ever.
      Peace to you too Ma’am. Cheers!

  2. I agree this is an incredibly raw emotional masterpiece. I never studied writing at University and sometimes I think that was a blessing. You to have quite a thick skin I’d imagine. I write mostly freestyle poetry myself and to be honest I prefer freestyle poetry. Fantastic job!

    • Thank you Ma’am!
      Studying writing at university can really go either way I think – you can learn certain methods of developing content, but this can also potentially constrain your creative genius.
      Oh, and my skin is not quite as think as I would like…
      Thank you again for the comment! πŸ˜€

      • I imagine it could go either way. I have a friend in university now and though she isn’t studying writing she is very much enjoying a creative writing class she’s involved with. At that time when I was a student I would found it constrictive and I would have rebelled constantly. Now I think I’d have an easier time with prompts. I’d have a hard time with forms though I honestly cannot understand meter. I have started reading more of my poems outloud which I think helps with flow but meter nah lol

      • I agree with you that reading aloud assists with the general understanding of certain poetic elements. Some very interesting points of view Ma’am. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. πŸ˜€

  3. Wow, really wonderfully raw and real writing. Well done.

Leave a Reply

