The Chasm of Love’s Defeat

I guess there is a bachelor in every city
and I am doomed to possess this title,
whilst waging a war within myself
as the epidemic that is romance
flows right through me, threataning
to take hold. It has been eons
since last a lady saw the parts of me
hidden beneath the buckle
that suspends these trousers
on my hips, and longer still since any woman
cared to groom my heart,
touching the palpitating emotions
brimming beneath this wrinkling frame
as age takes away this blossoming exterior
of mine. Soon I shall be as hagged
on the outside as my heart
feels on the in, and if a paramour
does not inject her sweetness
into my stream of conciousness
quite soon, I am afraid death
shall come and go,
and I will simply disappear
into a long forgotten, lonely funeral.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on April 1, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I wish you the desires of your heart… Your longing is evident in this wonderful piece. Poetic expression, as you know, is a great way to deal with your feelings.

    • Thank you again for not only your comment, but your well wishes Ma’am – you are far too kind! I totally agree that poetry enables us the ability to brilliantly express feelings.

Leave a Reply

