Whilst waiting for the Anesthetist

Waiting is the worst pain
any man can ever feel,
the abyss of total lonliness
spreading its decadence
across the horizon
of this here world.
As all that was once beautiful
is disintegrated in the shadow
of lonesome effigy,
the absence of all feeling
is consumed by painful suffering.
The walls press together,
demanding their vast quantity of flesh,
until my body is squished between
the corroded decay
of infinite demise,
and the blackened pitch
of a resentful loneliness.
I scream and I pound
but the walls consume my cries
in its impenetrable hide,
and although the invisible fortress
grants the opportunity
to view the world outside,
like a glassless window,
I remain forever unseen
by the eyes of all.
I always wanted someone,
but this I was denied,
and instead of love’s gentle touch,
I am granted the stabbing pain
of an environment
carved from depression’s soul.
Somebody take me out of here;
take me out of here I cry!
But for all the screams that escape my lungs
as the gruesome struggles erupt from within,
I am beneath the comprehension
of all who could provide assistance
from this undying drought
of isolation’s pull.
I hope for more
than what I have obtained,
but fate fails to smile
on my less than humbled location,
for if there are some
destined to have much happiness,
it is only logical
that an emotion of intense enjoyment
would be in miniscule supply
for the remainder of the populace.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on February 18, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Well, I see a bit of your current struggles, that I know of, but I think I hear a deeper struggle. Trials sure are good for inspiration- really great piece. I wish you peace with your circumstances.

    • I wrote this, as the title may suggest, before surgery, but I can still kind of relate to some of the ideologies. Thank you for commenting ma’am. I appreciate you taking the time to read and write your observations.

  2. Ouch, this is too good – I suggest that you give it an R-rating for ‘Images of extreme torture and brutality’.

    • Thank you! You really think so? I never really thought about the impact that some of the unsettling ideologies may have – but that is an excellent point. Will certainly consider that in the future. I appreciate you taking the time to read and write your opinion.

Leave a Reply

