If only the circumstances were different

I had my doubts right from the start;
her physical appearance screamed
who she was, and yet I ignored the
signs. My heart thumped violently
within my chest, and she was all I
craved. But when the moon was
highest in the sky, and the suns of
other galaxies glowed down on me,
I could have sworn I saw her kissing
another girl. Her eyes glittered
romantically; she was overcome
with lust, the passion she held for
this young woman written across
her face. She looked at me, as if to
say ‘you should have known,’ and I
replied with my eyes ‘my mind
realised who you were, but my
heart overruled, and did not give a
damn.’ The heart goes after who we
want, and never do we choose the
people that we love. Yes, I loved her,
just as she loves the woman who owns
the lips she’s kissing. Despite my
heart, like a stone, has sunk into the
ocean of morbid decay after
betraying the rest of me; and
regardless of the person that she is,
she is still a woman, and she is still as
beautiful as she always was, and
nothing in the world, even something
as trivial as her orientation, is ever
going to change this.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on February 6, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’ve been here. You write it well. I empathise good poet – well done.

  2. “The heart goes after who we want, and never do we choose the people that we love.” very true. i wish i can get the job of matching people for a day.

Leave a Reply

