The Riddle of a Love Affair Unrequited

On the hour the passionate fires
of our relationship are destined
to be ignited, the bitter taste of
defeat is all that penetrates this
heart of mine and falls upon my
tongue.

In my eyes you are an angel,
gliding upon a river of solitude
light, that illuminates the
passageway to a happiness,
whose pleasure does not relent
throughout the longevity of a
relationship, touched by the
hand of gorgeousness.

But it would seem I was mistaken
to think that such a romance was
ever a predestined fate of mine,
as my heart stands before the jury
in my mind, convicted of a sinful
atrocity that shall never be
forgotten.

I endured a life thus far, believing
your heart could rest with mine.
But what hubris did blind the
foolish oaf of a romantic within my
soul? I should have known that a
woman whose brilliance could only
ever be described as Godly would
not look upon the direction where
I do stand, and though your
ignoring me proves ever painful, it
is a fate I am truly deserving for
being blinded selfishly by the riddle
of unrequited love.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on January 28, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

