A definition of thy word use

Sweet; a term coined by a young lady
who wished not to harm the hungry
heart of her admirer by letting him
down so gently, not realising that
the pain he felt from falling was still
as plentiful without the inclusion of
such a word, which is now a cliche
that brings more agony than it
dismisses.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on January 23, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Ouch… Well stated. Wishing you a great day!

    • Hope I didn’t offend ma’am. I have this belief that the word ‘sweet’ is especially used to emphasise the notion: ‘I understand you, but I don’t have romantic feelings for you.’
      Thank you again for reading and commenting. I truly appreciate it. Have a great day too ma’am.

      • No offense. It’s accurate in many situations- your intuition is right- but not ALWAYS. And although it may mean there aren’t romantic feelings- it usually doesn’t take away the fact that you are sweet, Which is an adjective I would respectfully apply to you! So take that positive and run with it. But I feel for your disappointment, and I’m sorry.

      • Awww, thank you. I appreciate your opinion ma’am. πŸ˜€

  2. god i love brutal honesty. the world will be a better place if people spew cold truths than sugary bullshit.

    • I totally agree with you!
      I wish that the next unfortunate woman I ask out, instead of saying something reminiscent of ‘I’m sorry, but I am currently in a relationship’ adjunctively adds to the conclusion of such a statement ‘but even if I were not, I think you are a hideous, etc, etc, etc, and would not consider dating you even if I were single.’
      Although honesty does hurt, it at least severs all of the notions that a person may hold within their heart and enables one to efficiently move forward with their life.
      I’ve missed your spunky attitude PM! Thank you SO much for commenting! πŸ˜€

      • it’s better isn’t it? what most people don’t realize is it hurts more when they let you go in circles. it’s like they stab you with a knife back and forth many, many times rather than give you one solid blow and done. i say it’s kinder to shoot people right in the face. not only is the alternative cruel, it is also cowardly. thank you for your appreciation btw. i’ve just started to come out of the cave.

      • Thank you again for your opinion PM! I completely agree with you! Cowardly and cruel are words which perfectly summarise the alternative to truthful honesty.
        Also, please do come out of the cave – you can’t get your daily dose of Vitamin D in there.

  3. Truth well said, is not easy or sweet. I liked this post.

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    This flow truly gives awareness to the impact of a word said. So well written. Really like your writing, you know.

  5. Wow, now that’s raw feelings. How I wish more people would be more honest about expressing their feelings. That would definitely bring some change in this world! (Okay now that’s me having a personal issue. My bad!)

    For some weird reason, the word K-A-T came into my mind after reading this piece. Please don’t hate me for saying this!

    • I was really looking to create a piece about the raw honesty of words and how attempting to sugar coat feelings inevitably leads to pain, even when used with the best intentions.
      Thank you for your comments and I appreciate your opinion on the subject matter.
      As for the ‘word’ (or perhaps ‘name’ would be a more apt description), to be honest with you, this particular poem was originally going to possibly be inserted into the particular piece I wrote about a certain crush, but I had difficulty attempting to fathom how to incorporate it. Besides, recently I have been writing a lot of poetry about unrequited love. Some people talk about their feelings – I write mine and my internal struggles down poetically. This poem, and the past couple, have all related towards the way I feel right now.
      Thank you again for your comments.

Leave a Reply

