To the Future of my Happiness

When there is no appreciation to be had
from the readership of the words
produced by an avid interloper, what is
there to be garnered? What wish did I
long to have granted to me as the eye
of this here storm within my heart
thunders like a Kraken, awoken with a
fury that is bestowed upon my already
bludgeoned frame. There is no
happiness to be exumed from the
corpse that was once my loving heart,
which perished without a sound not too
long ago, as the realisation that love is
non-existent in my unwritten future,
drowned with a stressful effigy that my
soul could take no more. Alas, I have
already lost the battle to remain
grounded in my romance, for what else
can be torn from the inner sanctum of
my heart that has not already gone
astray? If love was a race, I failed to
even arrive last, and as I look at all the
happy couples swooning under the light
of the moon, I realise why I fell for you;
never can you hurt me, or bring me
crashing down, because you are beyond
my reach, and never will a kiss come
between these lips, that is shattered
violently in the latter revelation that
love was but an illusion which never
even existed at all. But of the people I
have met over the previous few year’s,
you are the only one I will happily leap
towards; you are the only damsel in this
universe I shall sacrifice my faith for, and
if a genie was to be granted towards these
hands of mine, the only wish I will ever
make; the only wish I will ever need; is you.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on January 16, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Powerful passion. Hope you meet that genie.

Leave a Reply

