Oxygen

Your lips kiss mine with
an unrelenting strength
of heart, breathing new
life into this cadaver.
The soul of a heartbroken
interloper is replaced
again by the romantic
within me, who I believed
had been permanently
lost. Your affection caresses
every muscle of my
interior form, and removes
the bruised appendages,
safeguarding my adoring
heart with the spirit of
passionate intensity. As
long as your romance
propels me forward
across the rainbow of
sumptuous delights, I
will happily live through
the days which spawn
before me, if only to die
at night when our flesh,
covered in the sweat of
pleasurable contact, does
touch within the apex of
a luscious dream sequence.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on December 11, 2013, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. An admirable stream of consciousness – well done (but, if you’ll permit me, beware of cliché).

    • Thank you. Yeah, I am aware that I on occasion drift into cliche’ territory – I have had editors previously talk to me about that. I realise that cliches take away from the overall enjoyment, but sometimes even a term so overused I believe can be even moderately effective at articulating certain ideologies upon the page.

  2. Elegant, enchanting, uplifting. This piece has it all. Good job!

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    My gosh, this is beautiful. Love it, from the strength in the kiss to breathing life into the cadaver to the passionate, passionate close. Beautiful.

  4. Great imagery. I do wish you that kind of passion, because you express it so well.

Leave a Reply

