The Rarest Chance

‘X’ marks the spot upon my heart
from where you have touched me
with your voice that ought
to be a permanent feature
in the halls of blessed paradise
due to its unflinching attractive
qualities. I would ride in upon
a steed as to not disappoint
your expectations of a man
with much class and character,
for my heart erratically beats
the moment you appear,
your presence trickling
across my soul every moment
my eyes come across your form.

But this facade is only
ever orchestrated because
I am neither skilled
nor a pleasure to look upon,
and never would my fickle form
be sold to a dazzling young maiden
like yourself. I have seen the men
that all the ladies I have witnessed
come before choose to have
and hold through all the days
of their lives, and I have bawled
my eyes out upon acquiring
the wounded notion
that never would I have that which
these prior men did have granted
to them, to see their dreams
complete.

But never did I howl
so loudly with an untold emotion
than the night I realised
I would never have you
with me, for my body heaves
with a passion so intense
at the thought of your love
within my heart; your voice
within my ear; your personality
drifting across my pillowed soul;
your flesh atop of mine.
I adore you my lady (although never
shall you be mine) in a way
that I could never be adored
by you, and so the sound
of wet droplets colliding
with the surfaces of the floor
will reach the ears of many
this night, and all the nights
to come, because to never have you
is the most heinous pain of all.

How could I ever convince
the face of rarest beauty
to lie down beside me in bed
this night and keep my frozen
soul warm as the darkest hours
pass by the windows upon the moon
taking shape in the blackened
world beyond. The stars
in the skies above leave
to an infinite number of worlds,
but no woman on any of them
combined will ever make me tremble
so, with a passionate anxiety,
the way your existence does.
To know that you are out there
this night is enough to give me
pause, for as long as your lungs
breathe, your heart beats,
and your soul lingers upon this here
Earth, there is always the chance,
the rarest chance, that you might
fall in love with me.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on October 8, 2013, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. “your presence trickling across my soul”, love it, wonderful thought. Ann

  2. Jesus, boy, any woman would give years of her life in exchange for love expressed like that. If she’s out there, go get her. She’d be so lucky.

    • Wow! Thank you! I cannot remember a time when someone gave me a compliment quite like this.
      Ma’am, I don’t know if you are always this unfathomably kind, but I truly appreciate reading your overly kind praise.

      • I give credit where credit is due. You have talent in spades and it has to be a refection of who you are, your words. I do, however, wonder why others din’t compliment you highly and often. A lot of people just suck lol

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    OMG YOU’RE GORGEOUS!! These words are just gorgeous. Beautiful beautiful beautiful beautiful beautiful beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

