Inevitable Fortune

Below is a poem I wrote with fellow blogger PM (http://prinsesamusang.wordpress.com/), whose blog is something people should definitely consider checking out. What happened here, is that I wrote a line, and then PM wrote one, and we continued this procedure until the very end.
Anyway, onto the poem…

Unknowing is the hour writ of our chance encounter,
under a liquid copper sky, two worlds collide, a beginning or an end?
A collaboration of frozen feelings struck within galaxy’s pull,
between accident and destiny; an inevitable fortune.

Unable to comprehend the calluses of avid interlopers,
trying to play God but we joust for our rights
upon the steeds of battles lost but never unforgotten.
Here we stand, not the least broken; together lost, but we found each other.

In these arms smell the scent of fidelity everlasting;
a hidden chill stirring, at once anesthetising and stimulating
through the marrow of the bones sheltering thy palpitating heart
in the crux of a decision that aligns with the stars.

Like an emerald shrouded by the dark of night I cannot help but stare,
my devotion a violent consuming passion without evanescence,
waning only after I have left this Earth, but not before I speak
the crystalline truth, immensely I fear to bring closer to light,
for you could dethrone this heart of mine from my chest’s mantel.

Is there a way to bury this fire unforeseen our collision birthed?
And if not, cometh what will the combined essence of our untamed hearts?
Try and fail, or fail to try, a decision we must comply
before the day is done, but what avenue is safest when rare they ever are?

Hands laced we take the leap, spirits merged, we jump to ends unknown
and glide across a rainbow towards what I hope will be our pot of solid gold.
Future uncertain, but the only answer is ‘yes’
when look into each other’s eyes we do. So what is it that we be waiting for?
The founding of Atlantis; the rebirth of the sun;
Icarus taking flight or a Montague dying for true love?

No matter where this goes, the die has been cast,
and now it be time to move myself across the board.
It’s you and me we finally decide,
before I passionately sweep you into my arms and thrust you against the wall.
I drown in your smile that confirms this inception.

I have waited an eternity for this perfect moment; I have moved bridges and mountains and seas,
all worth having you to call my own
from this moment forth until my last,
and when come that day does, I will die with a smile,
for I spent my life with you, and nothing could make me happier
than to say the words I have said every day since we first met; I love you.

 

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on August 29, 2013, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Geez. This is really, really, properly good!!!! My God can you guys just write poems together forever???

  2. This a great piece! Beautiful! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

