No Man Shall Love You, the way I Always Will

I would die, happily, if it meant I could hold you for but a moment,
before the end became so near.
I would sacrifice my soul to Lucifer himself,
if it meant those lips of yours,
even for the briefest of moments,
could penetrate my defenses and so gently touch mine.
I would spend every dollar I ever had to my name,
if it meant you could just look at me
and say ‘I know you are there young man,
and one day, in a future not yet written,
I will gladly be yours.’

I would rip apart this universe at a catastrophic level,
if it meant my efforts enabled me to gaze upon you tomorrow
for but an hour or more.
I would kill for you if you did ask,
and take the lives of millions if your attention I did garner,
once the war was won.
I would ignite a revolution
if it meant that anything would change,
and you may one day give a damn about my love for you.

I would tell you how I feel
if I believed that you would listen,
but you be blinded to my features,
and you be deaf to my words,
and I could scream the lines of this here poem,
but never would you look at me,
for you are you and I am me and never the two shall meet,
because our destinies dictate not this future,
but separate lives instead.

So I ask the cherub that shot me with an arrow soaked in eternal passion,
why was it I was fated to meet this woman,
when it is her I cannot romance,
for one can only truly love a person who happily loves them back,
and never are you going to love me.

The cherub does not answer;
he simply disappears,
as do you not a second later, never to return again,
for even if you knew my feelings,
another man you will always find;
not to maliciously break my heart every time you kiss another gentleman,
but because you will never recognise my face;
the face of the man of your dreams, masquerading as a stranger,
and although love, you may one day find,
it will only ever be pretend,
for no man shall ever love you, the way I always will.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on August 28, 2013, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great post! While reading your poem, the song No One’s Gonna Love You by Band Horses kept playing in my head.

  2. I found you through HST. Man, keep it up. I’m digging your work!

  3. Man… that hurt my heart… I felt such love and heartache. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

