Early Morning Light

The screeches of the seagulls wake me from
my slumber in the early morning light
as I rush to take the tram into the city.
I sit before a young maiden and weakly smile
at her, and before the carriage that I
occupy is even on the move, she
says without a shadow of a doubt in
my direction β€˜you’re beautiful.’ The words
of the damsel are but a sweet melody to
my ears, however, I do believe that this young
seductress may very well be sleep deprived, for
if she was wide awake, surely she would notice
that I am not deserving of her flattery
as she catches me off guard on this occasion,
my appreciation for such a compliment
being conveyed within the smile that I shine towards
her. But like I said, my belief that she be wrong
with her assertion is absolute, for beauty,
with but a flicker of an eyelash, can
have an audience bow down before their
brilliance, and forever be at their
beck and call, kissing their toes as though they
are their deity. If the lords and ladies of
Paradise really walk amongst us mortals, then
the sheer gorgeousness of your features certainly
overshadows mine. But what words can be said to
someone who defies all known description, when the
use of such archaic terms will be nothing more
than a blatant insult upon you? With this writ,
I take but one breath that be deeper than an
ocean trench, and with time as my only known
adversary, I say the words I believe need
saying in the hopes that you will humbly
appreciate my doing so.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on July 9, 2013, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Enjoyable, I felt as though I was sitting nearby and overheard your inner thoughts! So beautifully and delightfully written! Awesome!

  2. I agree with Mr. Brown on this one. I would say elegantly written. I am definitely there from the moment of the awakening to the seating on the tram. The last sentence is quite beautiful. Really nice job. —–Chagall

  3. This piece is immensely sweet! πŸ™‚ Only a person with a really big heart could write something this romantic. ^_^

  4. I love the picture you’ve painted with this one. It’s great! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

