Vancouver Sunrise

This here poem shall echo on throughout the course of time
until words are no longer words and they no longer rhyme.
This here poem shall echo on through the ages,
across words, lines, stanzas, paragraphs and pages.
This here poem is more romantic than previous love stories
and shall stretch across several lands, worlds, countries and territories.
This here poem is not about a conclusion, but a beginning
of a romance that is in itself entirely never ending.

Who would have thunk that I would one day be driving through the streets of Canada,
when five months prior I was in my bed, sleeping soundly in Australia.
Who would believe I would be driving down a Canadian highway
with the cold as my companion under the light of a brand new day
as my vehicle flies by an endless ocean of trees on either side,
which is the start of great forestry where many breeds of animals hide.
Behind me in my rear view mirror I see the incredible Vancouver sunrise
whilst ahead of me across the border is where the American continent lies
and just as I reach the border I realise I need to quickly turn around;
the Canadian border just saved my life for true love I have already found.
I put my foot to the pedal and hurry back the way I came
and under my breath I frequently repeat my young lover’s name
whilst the golden sun glows across my skin and the cold wind caresses me too
and as soon as I reach her door I will announce ‘Alexia, I love you.’

Five months prior, the last thought that could ever come to mind was the thought of travelling
across the vast oceans of this world to experience a cool Vancouver morning.
Allow this writer to paint a picture of how this came to be
and perhaps after reading several stanzas you will agree
that this is a luscious love poem unlike any other that has come before
and the feelings generated are all passion without a single flaw.

It’s 4a.m. Wednesday morning, I wake all alone.
Why did I wake you might ask; there’s someone on the phone.
Alexia’s calling from a payphone in the middle-class district of Coal Harbour
and in the background I can hear the shriek of the wind and the cry of the cold weather.
‘Just last night I was staring passionately at your picture on the bedroom wall,
it seems, almost like destiny that the next morning you suddenly choose to call.’
Her mobile is dead and she has lost some of her luggage
but her strength hasn’t waned and she still has her courage,
other than that, she is totally unaffected and completely fine,
before beginning to articulate why she happens to be on the line.
Initially I thought that maybe she wished to redefine our relationship,
after all, truth of the matter was, I had always wanted more than a friendship.
Additionally, I wonder if she is calling to talk about a future,
where, instead of being a loyal friend of mine she is my infatuated lover
and I am also hers; a wish I’d always wanted as my own,
but seldom had these lustrous dreams I have ever truly grown.
Instead, you want to sell me a trip to Canada, to experience what life’s like there
and I ecstatically reply ‘Alexia, I will gladly go with you anywhere.’

You could sell me almost anything; all I dream of is your hand.
To the man in the desert, you could sell more irritating sand,
to the captain of the sinking ship in the Pacific you could see more sea,
but all I want, in all the world, is for you to sell your loving heart to me.
For you are the Alexia of life and you are the unwilling owner of this man’s heart
and as I quickly pack my gear, I do so not only because I cannot stand being apart
but because I wish to reveal to you a truth you have not yet found;
a truth that has always existed, one that has always been around
and the truth is, I’m the man of your dreams masquerading as your closest friend,
however, I am afraid this man can no longer adequately pretend.
I must tear down the great walls of this façade and reveal to you the way I feel
and all I can ever do is hope that the love I dream you have for me is real,
for I am obliged to show you the strong emotions inside my heart and soul
because without you, my dear, I am nothing more than a fraction of a whole.
Upon reuniting in Canada, I will happily kiss you where you stand
and perhaps, if I be lucky, everything will turn out the way I always planned.

When I eventually did arrive in this alien country Alexia did not hesitate
and together we quickly began our adventurous travels, but first, we had to masticate
for our hunger was fast becoming so intense it was unbelievably sublime
and if we wanted to go on a journey or two we needed to be in our prime.
I remember travelling to Prince Edward Island and dining in Charlottetown
and at the Saint John Farmer’s Market in Fredericton we greatly weighed ourselves down
with an unimaginable wealth of food and other necessities
for when we would being travelling across the many territories.
We had a stopover in Toronto and stayed the night at the Hotel Alexandra,
before continuing onwards the next day to explore other portions of Canada.
We traversed through the amazing Miles Canyon in the area known as Whitehorse
and under the bright moonlight we dined upon a deliciously homemade main course,
before travelling to view a festival in Edmonton and the gorgeous Lake Louise in Alberta
and later taking the Tsawwassen-Swartz Bay Ferry to admire the many castles in Victoria.
In Halifax I learnt that the local old town clock had been keeping time since 1803
and I wondered to myself, ‘would it take as long for Alexia to ever notice me?’

As the few months quickly drift by, my romantic goals remain incomplete
and my heart becomes overburdened with the intense feeling of defeat.
I never believed Alexia had the ability to read my mind,
however, I felt that the truth of it all she would inevitably find
at her own volition. I have been sending more signals than a satellite
and I cannot fathom why she has not seen what I am now choosing to write.
I have been in love with her since the very moment I heard her voice
and I have become a slave to love, I was never granted a choice.
But a man can only accept loss so many times before he officially gives in
and I for one cannot take anymore pain for I have already been long sufferin’
the incredible emotions that run rampant throughout my head
and I guess I am going to leave with a broken heart instead,
for although I came to this great country with the one intention of acquiring Alexia,
it seems unfortunate that I will be leaving in much the same way that I arrived in Canada.
The highway I drive across is nearly vacant as I hurry by in my vehicle,
my palpitating heart distraught that I am still yet to claim my one forbidden angel.
Behind me in my rear view mirror I see the incredible Vancouver sunrise
whilst ahead of me across the border is where the American continent lies
and just as I reach the border I realise I need to quickly turn around;
the Canadian border just saved my life for true love I have already found.
I put my foot to the pedal and hurry back the way I came
and under my breath I frequently repeat my young lover’s name
whilst the golden sun glows across my skin and the cold wind caresses me too
and as soon as I reach her door I will announce ‘Alexia, I love you.’

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on May 4, 2013, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. i love this to pieces. it’s sweet, simple, agonizing, passionate, hopeful, tragic, and i can go on and on. it’s beautiful. good job, mr. childs. lucky girl, alexia.

  2. Oh my goodness! You are so talented. Is there a love button?

Leave a Reply

