Dear Kat De Lieva

Dear Ms. De Lieva, I’m unsure if these words will ever reach your ears or ever pass your lips,
or if the paper these words are printed on will ever be touched by your fingertips.
We have never met and if I’m being honest, we probably never will,
but it doesn’t matter, for in ten years time I will feel the same way still.
I don’t know how to prove to you I am real, or that these words are in any way accurately truthful,
however, I could only ever write a poem like this for you, because never has there been anyone else quite so beautiful.
Moreover, I’m uncertain if this is going to be the greatest love poem never told,
but, if this was to be the last great love poem, I would want it to be worth its weight in solid gold.

I don’t want to create a stereotype or write a cliché,
because I’ve something important I would very much like to say.
But how to articulate my thoughts and feelings? I am unsure what to suggest
for this isn’t just a piece of writing, this is the beginning of a man’s quest
to tell you, the woman that I love the most exactly how I feel,
no matter how crazy or foolish it sounds, no matter how surreal
and although the evidence supporting the theory that one human can love another without knowing them is aloof,
I do not need it, for the many words I use do not only construct poetic stanzas, they also contain my proof.

On first impression I may seem extraordinarily loquacious
but that is because I am endeavouring to be efficacious
in describing the passionate feelings inside of me and my longing to articulate them well
because, like several thousand men before me Ms. De Lieva I have fallen under your spell
that you have cast on me and every other man privileged to look upon your gorgeous form like a well trained magician
and it don’t matter if I am grammatically incapable or if I happen to be sesquipedalian
for words are only words and although they describe my feelings they cannot describe my loving heart.
I long to kiss you Ms. De Lieva, and now, this piece of poetry I would like to gladly start.

But for all of my garrulousness; for every chosen rhyme and written word,
I don’t know if my feelings are articulated, or if they sound absurd.
Unlike you ma’am, I’m limited only to English, which is not the perfect language
and if I knew of a foreign word stronger than ‘love’, I would gladly go on a pilgrimage
to claim it as my own. I would appreciate the opportunity to say my feelings to you rather than have them read
because the honesty of a person’s words can only be captured from inside the heart when they have been honestly said.
I long to steal you away for a minute, just as you permanently stole my attention.
Only then could the truth be revealed, along with the knowledge of my undying affection.

I have lived a life of many endeavours, but never have I been struck down by such a dream,
however, this fantasy that I long for could never come to fruition so it would seem.
This dream of mine ain’t something easily granted; it’s to spend my life with you Ms. De Lieva, the most gorgeous human being;
the single most amazing young woman I have ever had the extraordinary privilege to view on the silver screen.
Love isn’t something that can be taken though, it needs to be given voluntarily
and I know I don’t deserve someone as special as a ravishing angelic beauty.
I cannot discern the length of time these feelings shall last, for no measurement could ever be too long;
all I know is that my feelings are invulnerable and never has there been anything quite so strong.

I will admit my mind is incredibly convoluted
and I will not deny I must be totally deluded
for having romanticised feelings for such a famous woman.
Ms. De Lieva, I hope you can perhaps forgive this young person
for becoming so unfathomably infatuated with you;
I’m sure if the scenario were reversed you’d feel the same way too.
I do not mean to be speculative, but it ain’t everyday someone of such rare beauty appears before one’s eyes
and I feel privileged to have seen someone of such astounding physical and mental beauty; it’s a welcome surprise.

I realise I may seem foolish, but at the same time I’m not that much of a tragic fool; I know a woman like you would never be seen with a man like me
and even if I were to become successful, by that time you’ll be living with your future husband and adoring children, surrounded  by loving family.
There is no way for me to prove that I am not another man crushing on a celebrity,
just as me proving my love for you is as real as the clouds in the sky, is a great difficulty.
On top of this, it would not be paranoia to assume that one would be less attracted to you than your established name;
that a person would fall not for you, but your vast accumulated wealth of money and your incredible amount of fame.
However, I have all the symptoms of love; I find it hard to breathe and I can barely eat,
you are inside my very soul Ms. De Lieva, just as you are now a part of my heartbeat.

To me, you are a talented diva with the body of an hourglass, living the dream you were born for.
It doesn’t matter where I stand; I’ll never be close enough to you and I will always request to have more,
but what egotistical ideology would I be corrupted by to believe a Goddess of such fair beauty
could develop feelings for a lesser mortal, when her physical appearance causes even the sun’s rays jealousy.
To imagine you Ms. De Lieva, the dictionary’s definition of true perfection looking at me romantically is ridiculous,
and I would very much appreciate never having to compromise the strong feelings I have for you with such unjustifiable hubris
and although I do realise we will not be together,
I fear these feelings may last a lifetime; if not forever.

I know very little about you Ms. De Lieva, you are a complete mystery,
but I’d like to think I know enough for my heart to feel the way it does. Physically,
‘beautiful’ barely begins to describe how immeasurably gorgeous you are
and those flawless brown eyes of yours are the most amazing I’ve ever seen by far.
Your looks are just as incalculable as your professional brilliance,
rivalled only by the attractive qualities of your intelligence.
This is evident through the way you write, your sentences, paragraphs and pieces all being unbelievably captivating
and your cheerfully pleasant demeanour and matching happy personality are just as wonderfully fascinating.

Moreover ma’am, your deliciously dark hair is so ravishing to behold and is unbelievably straight,
there’s not a part of you that’s not unimaginably perfect, there’s not a part of you that I could ever hate.
Your fantastic smile which could be described in no less than a thousand romanticised pages is absolutely unfathomable in its worth
and I don’t believe anyone would disagree if I were to be so bold as to say you have the most fabulous smile on all of planet Earth.
Your lips are as pink as a rare flower and your skin is as terrific as an award winning piece of art
and as for the rest of your amazing physical features, I honestly wouldn’t even know where to start
for no words could do you justice. If the woman that you are on the inside Ms. De Lieva is just as beautiful as who you are physically
then you might be the most gorgeous woman who has ever lived; an inspirational Goddess; an evocative angel; a wonderful lady.

Ms. De Lieva, out of all the people in this world, you are the young woman I want to be with most.
When I close my eyes and let sleep take me, you continuously flood my many dreams and like a ghost
you haunt me. When this happens I always wonder, could I haunt your sleep the way you haunt mine?
Could this ever be at all possible or is this particular question out of line?
Upon originally seeing you I was completely mesmerised and the first words I was able to manageably utter were ‘oh my God’,
for never before had I seen anyone so graciously beautiful and the feelings inside of me felt so incredibly odd
because I had never seen anyone who was more amazing than Queen Elizabeth, more inspirational than Cleopatra and more beautiful than Aphrodite;
someone so unbelievable in their characteristics I could have sworn, if I had not been so certain, that I had strolled into an alluring romantic fantasy.

Do with me what you will; head, heart, soul, I am one hundred per cent yours
and by that I do mean everything, from my strengths to my fatal flaws.
As stated in prior stanzas though, as much as I want it to be, this is not our fate
but if it were, no matter the longevity, any length of time would be worth the wait
to look upon you with my very own two eyes and not through the eyes of an artificial screen,
for that is no way to marvel at the woman, who is possibly, the most perfect human being,
for you are always on my mind and yet you are the part of me I am always missing
because come tonight, instead of me, there shall be a different man you will be kissing.

I don’t mean to appear negative, I only wish to state the facts
and if by the end of this my dignity is no longer intact
then that is the sacrifice I will gladly make. The heart wants what the heart wants and apparently, all my heart wants is you
and if this is proven not to be an accurate statement, then I am at a major loss as to what could be more true.
For waltzing through a river of magma, swimming through the angry seas and braving a cyclone
seem to me like great risks I would gladly take to one day call a fraction of your love my own.
On that note, it seems blatantly clear to me that I have quite a gargantuan dilemma;
that being, I have fallen unconditionally in love with Canadian actress Kat De Lieva.

Lastly, I hope I have not offended you Ms. De Lieva, for I never meant to cause you any distress;
all I ever wanted to do in writing this piece was reveal my feelings and ultimately confess
that much like oxygen, food and water you are something I desperately need
and to have you in this life of mine, I swear, I will happily fight, burn and bleed.
As previously stated, I don’t want to use a cliché line like ‘marry me’ or ‘there is nothing I wouldn’t do’,
so instead, allow me to write without bias or nefarious intent, Kat De Lieva, I am in love with you.
Again, I feel the need to say everything I write is true, from the stanzas to the words I have compiled,
sincerely and with kind regards, very much appreciation and never ending love, your Derek Childs.

Did you enjoy this particular poem? If so, there is a sequel titled Dear Kat de Lieva Part 2, which can be found at this particular link: http://wp.me/p24LWs-cF

Thank you for reading.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on April 27, 2013, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ambitious Poet

    Well done! ❤ Truly Captivating! You deserve so much more than the Sunshine Award I gave you 🙂

  2. you will forgive me, lover boy, if i had to google who kat is. 😀

Leave a Reply

