Tribute to the moon

I am standing on the eve of something glorious,
your radiant glow upon me feels so fabulous.
You are several thousand million miles away,
you are beautiful no matter what they say.
Don’t you believe a word about the stars,
you are so much more beautiful by far;
you have shining hair and a silver face,
you are so absolutely irreplace-
able. I look up towards you and I wave hello,
bring down transport and abduct me in a UFO
so I may have a closer inspection
of your beauty, you have my permission,
and as I rise up through the Earth’s atmosphere,
my love will not wane nor disappear,
for in the depths of outer space, a million miles from nowhere,
I will be close enough to my God for Him to hear my prayer;
I wish to stay up here by my moon’s side forever,
and nothing alive will keep us from being together.
I will seal our relationship with a gentle kiss,
no other love affair could ever feel quite like this,
and soon everyone will no doubt talk about both you and me;
the two of us shall become a regular bedtime story,
and don’t you dare fret for I will be with you so very soon,
for never was there a romance, like me and my gorgeous moon.

NOTE: Sorry I haven’t been posting as much poetry lately. I just came up with this on the spot and thought it would be a good idea to submit this to prove that I am still alive. Thanks for reading!

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on March 21, 2013, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I really enjoyed this, you should write more poetry, you obviously have a gift. 🙂

    • Wow, thank you Cazzie. ‘Gift’ you say? well, I’ll take your word for it ma’am! 😀 I’m often limited to writing very few pieces due to my time constraints. However, your comment might very well make me allocate more time to writing poems! Thank you again Cazzie!

  2. Wonderful! And no “mooning” in sight! A lovely read 🙂

Leave a Reply

