A Regretful Christmas

Once upon a time I thought I knew you; just as I believed that you knew me.
I thought you and I were destined for a relationship that was meant to be.
This animalistic predator was on the prowl
for you. Ma’am, did you hear that cry, did you hear that howl?
I fear this area is no longer safe for your heart to linger in
because of the damage I could do when my heart is corrupted with sin
and lustful pleasure whenever you happened to be near.
When cometh the season of gift giving and Christmas cheer
I wish upon a star that all my dreams come true. I place your name upon my Christmas list
and hope you are chaperoned to my room by eight reindeer, because if Santa does exist,
he,  and he alone, would know my heart’s ambitions, and is the only one in all the world with the gift to allow
my dreams to come to fruition, for I need you today like oxygen and liquid, and must be with you right now.

I’ve never seen a beauty like yours; never met a woman who was so sublime.
I fell for you so easily and wished to be your rememberable first time.
Instead, you go gallivanting up and down the street
making love to almost every single man you meet
and never have I been lucky enough to be such a man.
I thought I could conceive a romance; I thought I had a plan
which would inevitably lead to making you mine.
We’d have an exquisite feast; a sweet bottle of wine
as well, to compliment the beginning of a romance made in Heaven above
and by the end of the dinner, you and I would be undeniably in love.
However, this fantasy of mine is nothing more than a dream, and dreams are never real,
and even though it’s Christmas, the agony of not being with you is all I ever feel.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on December 24, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

