To my Step Daughter

To my step daughter, wherever you may be tonight,
you are the apple of my eye, you are my sunlight.
Liara, I swear, I unconditionally love you the way any father should,
and if you were in danger, I’d sacrifice myself to save you, you know that I would.
You know I loved your mother, and like you, I loved her with all of my heart,
and I’m sorry that the winds of change inevitably forced us apart.
Now, the Pacific Ocean, it stands like a gargantuan wall between both me and you,
but believe me when I announce, I can still feel your love just as you can still feel mine too,
and come June 26th this year, we’ll be reunited once again,
for this father-daughter story of ours, it is the stuff of legend.
Don’t ever believe I’d forget your birthday, I wouldn’t miss it for the world,
and you must know there is no one else out there for me, you are my only girl,
and when I reach American soil, I’ll wrap you in my arms, and kiss you on the head,
and that night, you wouldn’t dream of loneliness, no, you will dream of happiness instead.
At the same time, I will dream of your future occupation;
whether you will be a lawyer, a shrink or a musician?
A journalist, doctorial staff, an actor or a member of government,
like a politician, or perhaps either a Prime Minister or President?
Now Liara, come your birthday you shall be granted my present; a gift of continued support and love,
and the realisation that you are the only angel whom I pray to in all of Heaven above.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on September 30, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Aww, what a beautiful declaration of love 🙂

  2. Such a precious poem!! :,)

  3. Lovely sentiments and expression of unconditional love.

  1. Pingback: My First Day & Night In My New Apartment – Divorce Journal | armyveteran

Leave a Reply

