5 Minutes To Go

SYNOPSIS: A hypothetical scenario of the end of the world and who one would like to spend those last few minutes with.

Why does the world’s largest catastrophe
have to happen to you and me?
We could not contain global warming
and now our planet is exploding.
Angry red fire burns us alive
but in the end our love survives.
Although we fall under annihilation,
love remains our greatest salvation.

Here under the Milky Way
our world is slowly blown away.
There’s nothing we could do
so let me hold onto you.
Please forget the world’s on fire,
tonight you are my single greatest desire.
As the world begins to blow,
we only have five minutes to go.

We stare into each other’s eyes
as our world begins to die.
I hold you close to my heart,
even in death, we won’t be apart,
I hold you tightly my precious pearl,
as we say goodbye to our world.
We remember all the things we have done
as our flesh is joined together as one.

If the world was truly about to end
I would undoubtedly love to spend
every dying minute alone with you
until the world’s destruction took me from you.
When the world swallows your face,
there’d be nothing which could replace
my undying love that’ll last forever,
in Heaven we’ll always be together.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on September 1, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

