Can Never Afford

SYNOPSIS: A romance between a stereotypically average man who has been captured by the love and beauty of a woman who not only possesses Heavenly qualities, but who is seeking to gain a throne within the realm of Hollywood and performance arts.

Last night I saw her face
as I tried to breathe.
She’d made her way to Hollywood
and then to the above.
I glanced her in the common place
wearing a top with golden sleeves,
it was then I wished I could
be her one true love.
There’s a halo above her head,
her name I cannot tell.
She’s won the award
for most beautiful,
which to me’s so sadly said,
her love I can never afford.

I then realised my dream was real,
seeing her reach Broadway.
She wore a silver dress
with flowers speckled in her hair.
Her skin I’d love to feel
on this sunny Summer’s day.
Her hair’s never in a mess
and what I feel isn’t fair.
There’s a halo above her head,
her name I cannot tell.
She’s won the award
for most beautiful,
which to me’s so sadly said,
her love I can never afford.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

