Why can’t love be real?

SYNOPSIS: The poetic story of telling the person you love how you feel – only to be heinously rejected.

I was completely in love with you for almost two years.
When you were not around, my body, it broke down in tears.
I needed you like running water, I needed you like air,
I needed you to be in my arms, I needed you right there.
At times I could be disconcerting, I know your friends told you ‘beware’,
but when it came to true love I promise you, I always did play fair.
Towards you I felt an inexplicably strong connection,
I cherished you greatly with all of the love and affection
in my heart. I promised to love you forever, and now I love you just so much,
but it’s such a shame to learn that the hands of fair angels and human men can’t touch.
Instead of embracing me, you ripped me apart at a molecular level the other day.
‘You are not the one for me, and you are not my destiny’ were the only words you had to say.
You didn’t give me a chance to explain my true feelings, which are eternally yours and loyal,
you didn’t give us a chance to be together, you didn’t even give us a chance to toil.
With this said and done, you will soon choose another man to be your only paramour,
and from that moment on you won’t think of me as crazy, you will think of me no more.
I swore to myself a year ago I would not be zealous
if you could not love me back. I promised not to get jealous,
and yet these negative emotions are all I ever seem to feel.
Why can’t a relationship come to fruition? Why can’t love be real?
I fear I won’t stop loving you, this is my awful curse,
for in all the world there is absolutely nothing worse
than being in love. I hold you accountable, and I give unto you all of the blame,
and the only way for me to live once more is to eventually forget your name.
I have to let you go, and hope to never see you again,
else all of my feelings will return, and so will all my pain.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on August 7, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. to forget is the greatest relief…it can be done… i have done it… its a hard choice but if we are determined to turn from those persistent thoughts we get the gift of space and life and true love …i think

  2. ha I nearly didn’t write ‘I think’… i meant ‘I’ think as in it’s my opinion…not ‘I’m not sure’ 🙂 I KNOW

  1. Pingback: The Love Game « RudyvBrown's Blog

Leave a Reply

