Never fall in love

SYNOPSIS: A piece that takes a negative look at the feeling that so many of us wish to endlessly treasure due to its adoringly heartfelt properties, yet possibly dangerous and heart wrenching consequences.

Sometimes the darkness is too much and I feel a little blue.
Do not shed a tear for me cuz I died when I first saw you
after I realised such a young beauty could never love a man like me
and just like that, you and I we came together and we crushed my fantasy
and we also crushed my still red beating heart
that now be but broken and falling apart
from the trauma that it hath terribly sustained –
I only wish that day a lover I had gained.

God, I wish a relationship had come to fruition.
Sometimes I do not even know why I bother livin’
a life that ain’t lovely or romantic
in a world that is so cold and plastic
where the faces of all the living peoples always look the same,
and those I truly love cannot even recognise my true name
because they are blinded by the beauty of other more handsome men.
If given the choice, I would not ever live this life of mine again.

Is it really living, if I frequently feel like death?
Am I really breathing if I am all run out of breath?
I feel like I have run several hundred thousand miles
due to my stubborn bleeding heart and the constant trials
that present themselves every single hour.
Tell me, am I but a man if I cower
away, for I have this fear of my heart been again broken.
‘I love you’ are the three little words I have not yet spoken.

Been in love is like banging your head against a brick wall.
Inevitably, everything you try to love will fall
down, like rain, and will forever disappear,
and those sweet three words I have so longed to hear
I will unfortunately never bear witness to once more
as I find my cold cadaver lying hapless on the floor
of Hell’s horrific barren wasteland for the hundredth time in one day.
Anyone who dreams of getting close to me, I urge you ‘stay away.’

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on July 27, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. 😦 this makes me really sad. awwwwweeeee….love is such sweet sorrow. don’t be sad you are so wonderful. be happy 🙂 smilllleeee 😀 you are so pretty when you do

    • No offence, but I am glad that you feel sad Ms. Ginger – that was the emotion I was attempting to evoke by writing this piece. Thank you again for your comment Ms. Ginger, the beauty of your writing is utterly sublime. 😀
      You are right about love being such sweet sorrow, however you are wrong about my smile being so pretty – I have one of those insincere smiles that causes little children to do pee pee in their pants. And how do you know that I am so pretty when I smile? Are you stalking me Ms. Ginger? OMG! Police! A gorgeous young woman on WordPress is pleasing me so with her words of untainted, unrivalled, unsurpassed beauty, and I’m enjoying every minute of it! Please, do not help me!
      Cheers Lady Ginger… 😀

Leave a Reply

