Name

SYNOPSIS: A piece about a man, whose friend and wishful lover, a young woman, ventures forth and gains herself a life of fame and fortune, forgetting all that she once knew, although the man never forgets her, or her ‘name.’
There was a girl I used to know,
and yet she’s famous now.
She grew up on an acreage,
in an ordinary Australian town.
Her hair was dark and straight,
her face was so bold and dreamy;
I never knew she had to go,
the truth tasting so foul.
I didn’t see her cross the bridge,
or hear of her leaving to gain her crown;
her I could never hate
for been unable to love me.

I am not that insane,
nor am I foolish.
My dreams may have been coarse,
yet I can’t take it no more.
I feel no anguish,
for she’s so adventurous;
she left to find something more,
yet I still know her name.

Since the day she took her fame
she has travelled the world.
She had a stopover in London,
and has been to New York too.
Her career took her to Hollywood,
her face dominating the news;
now everyone knows her name,
it’s spoken round the world.
Every night I dream of her again,
yet I’ve never seen it through.
I should stop these feelings, yes I should,
for they never bring me to you.

I am not that insane,
nor am I foolish.
My dreams may have been coarse,
yet I can’t take it no more.
I feel no anguish,
for she’s so adventurous;
she left to find something more,
yet I still know her name.

I can’t stop thinking about her,
I see her face everywhere I go.
The media, without her permission
took photos of her whilst she was nude;
this makes her out to be something she’s not,
yet I’ll always know the truth.
She is an angel, I am sure,
and my love for her will always grow;
to be with her is my only mission,
and the media can’t kill the mood.
Journalists treat her as if she is grot,
yet they haven’t any proof.

I am not that insane,
nor am I foolish.
My dreams may have been coarse,
yet I can’t take it no more.
I feel no anguish,
for she’s so adventurous;
she left to find something more,
yet I still know her name.

Right now she resides in Los Angeles,
yet I know I’ll see her again,
despite my heart crying out in pain.
Yesterday she was eating in Paris;
tomorrow she’ll be in Melbourne,
and once again things can feel the same.
Over the years she’s had a lot of love,
none of them ever lasting too long.
There was well known musician, Francis Dean,
and the extravagant guitarist Steven Brown.
There’s collaborator Robert Right,
yet in the end she has never been with me.

I wish I too could travel up above,
to be by her side where I belong.
Francis truly loved her like a machine,
and she won the beauty pageant in Steven’s town.
I dream of her every single night,
believing we have the perfect chemistry.

I am not that insane,
nor am I foolish.
My dreams may have been coarse,
yet I can’t take it no more.
I feel no anguish,
for she’s so adventurous;
she left to find something more,
yet I still know her name.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on July 6, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

