Magic Carpet

SYNOPSIS: Like ‘Confession’, this particular piece is technically not a piece of poetry, but a lyric that I wrote whilst with a band. Never was it performed, and so I decided to attach it to my blog instead.

There are things I have seen
which proves humans can be so mean.
Jessie and Dean are now so near,
it’s a shame he lives off her career.
Daniela always keeps in touch,
often it is by the phone,
like others she doesn’t enjoy being alone
because Dean has found a separate crush.
Veronica doesn’t know who her friends are
never being seen again in her brand new car.

She knows who I want to be,
in me she can always find trust.
Now, let’s take a dive
on a magic carpet ride
and find a world for us.
I never knew love could rule this world,
to me she’s no ordinary girl;
I can’t say what she means to me.

Veronica used to hide from plain sight
but now she believes she’s alright.
Jessie believes that she’s found love
which is why she can’t give up
because nobody wants to fear a ghost,
Dean is her only illness;
he doesn’t care about human greatness,
he’s a sight many people fear most,
and when he cheats on her,
I’m positive I never felt this way before.

She knows who I want to be,
in me she can always find trust.
Now, let’s take a dive
on a magic carpet ride
and find a world for us.
I never knew love could rule this world,
to me she’s no ordinary girl;
I can’t say what she means to me.

Jessie and Veronica are almost the same,
they are both being dangerously played.
Dean and Daniela make love behind closed doors
not caring about the pain they’ll cause;
he can’t tell she’s the best,
Jessie knows love is so powerful –
around her I feel indestructible.
As the sun slowly sets,
Jessie may one day know
just how far I’m willing to go.

She knows who I want to be,
in me she can always find trust.
Now, let’s take a dive
on a magic carpet ride
and find a world for us.
I never knew love could rule this world,
to me she’s no ordinary girl;
I can’t say what she means to me.

End Notes: I was taught to assume the intelligence of your audience, and I ain’t saying this piece was difficult to discern, so don’t assume I’m treating you like a bunch of unintelligible people when I quickly explain the poem. One, Jessie and Dean are an item, but he is cheating on Jessie with Daniela. Two, Veronica used to be cheated on and she fled to be safe, away from love, but now she has returned. Three, there is the idea, or perhaps the notion, that Dean and Veronica might have known each other, and perhaps he cheated on her and caused her to leave, or that perhaps they never met until recently and he is going to start cheating on both Jessie and Daniela with Veronica? Wow! Four, the character in the story (the ‘I’ guy) is in love with Jessie and wants her to be his, but doesn’t want to say anything whilst she is in a relationship, because unlike Dean, he has a set of entrenched views and values prohibiting him from doing such a thing. Five, FYI, this poem is not an articulation of an occurrence that happened once either in my life or the life of someone I once knew. It is a work of fiction, and any resemblance to anyone living, dead or somewhere in-between is purely coincidental.

Thank you for reading.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. When I read “Magic Carpet” I immediately thought of Princess Jasmine and Aladdin from Disney’s “Aladdin”. If you ever do a youtube vid of you singing this song post a link please! 🙂

    • Thank you for the comment. I personally never did imagine such a positive Disney ideology when writing this – I was interpreting a more negative environment. I am glad that you found something genuinely nice about the world created within this piece.
      FYI – I guess you have never heard me sing. Even Freddy Kruger would never be horrible enough to his victims to have my off pitch voice ringing in their ears. If I ever do a youtube video of me singing this, one of four things will happen – I will be thrown out of my country – my government will bring back the death penalty just for me – I will never again have a girlfriend for as long as I live – or all of the above.
      Thank you again for your comment. Very nice! 😀

Leave a Reply

