First Dance

SYNOPSIS: Piece about experiencing a first dance with a certain woman. As a twist, the world is on the verge of ending, so the bloke in the poem had better pull his finger out and get that dancin’ goin’.

I’m staring at an open door
the night the world will end.
Drinks are pouring on the go
and everybody wants some more,
I see the girl I love again
and I start dancing slow.

I could be your transportation
in this wide constellation
with the sun in the atmosphere.
We could always stay here
to feel a true romance,
while you experience your first dance (with me).

I’m staring at an open book
which will never close.
I stare into brown eyes
while you give me the look;
this is love I do suppose
and I cannot hide.

You could hold my hands
while I take the lead.
I’ve never felt this way before
and I clearly understand
our spirits have been freed,
of that I am sure.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on June 22, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

