Albatross

SYNOPSIS: The comparison of a woman to one of the most interesting of Antarctic migration birds.

Pulling up on open ground
that stands before me.
I’d faint if I saw you,
with your touch and sound,
yet I’m always so lucky
cuz I’m with you.

Honey, you’re my mother load,
you’re my barren sea,
you’re my albatross.
Honey, you’re my open road,
you’re my bride to be;
you’re my albatross.

Standing on this open world,
nothing ever feels absurd.
When you hold my hand,
you’re my only cover girl
flying like a hummingbird
drifting across the sand.

You stand atop my lonely mountain
breathing in the air.
You never fly away,
drinking with me at the fountain.
I know you truly care,
spending with me night and day.

About totalovrdose

I am an online journalist, video game reviewer, mental health advocate and post graduate university student. I am a massive video gaming geek; a lover of intellectual conversations; an award winning procrastinator; a devilishly charming nuisance and the definition of 'fun' (sometimes). My blog is filled with many a soporific love poem, and is simply the beginning in my quest to become a published author. Please stop by and say 'Hi!' (that rhymes!) :D

Posted on June 11, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This poem of yours reminded me of a poem by Samuel Taylor Coleridge, “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner”. Have you read it?

    • No, I have not read the poem that you speak of. If there is a link that you could provide, I would really like to take a gander sometime.

      • warning: it’s a long poem, but definitely worth the haunting read.
        http://www.shmoop.com/rime-of-ancient-mariner/poem-text.html

      • Thanks for the link. Sorry for the late reply. I’ve been reading it for the past six hours, and after doing so, not only do I feel a lot older than I did when I began, I have to admit it was quite enjoyable. The writing style was uniquely beneficial to the enjoyment of the piece, with, what seemed to be a pirate overtone conveyed within the literal connotations. Perhaps I am just ignorant, but I had to laugh at some of the lines and the way certain areas were presented, rather than being concerned by the never ending ideology of death weighing upon the captain of the vessel that hath been cursed from the moment of the sea bird’s demise at the hands of his wretched bow that taketh the life of such a delicate creature of life and belonging on the eternal sea.
        Thank you for the comment young lady, much appreciated.
        Cheers! 😀

Leave a Reply

